University Sabbaticals, Fellowships & Faculty Awards Committee

2023-2024 DUE DATES

  • Jepson Fellowship applications: September 11, 2023
  • Sabbatical applications: September 11, 2023
  • Waple Professorship applications: December 4, 2023 (applications are solicited by email in fall semester and submitted to college deans)
  • Faculty Awards nominations:
    • March 15, 2024 for the Board of Visitors Faculty Leadership Award
    • March 29, 2024 for all other faculty awards


  • 2025 Ben LaBreche (Associate Professor, CAS Arts and Humanities Rep.) –  Chair
  • 2025 Marco Millones Mayer (Associate Professor, CAS Social Sciences Rep.) – Secretary
  • 2024 Melody Denhere (Associate Professor, CAS Health, PE, & STEM Rep.)
  • 2026 Christy Irish (Assistant Professor, COE Rep.)
  • 2026 Xiaofeng Zhao (Associate Professor, COB Rep.)


Victoria Russell, Director, Center for Teaching


UMW Faculty Handbook § 2.6.7:  The committee’s duties are to:

.1 Recommend to the Provost which sabbatical applications (as sent forward to the Provost from the deans) and which Jepson Fellowship proposals should be presented to the Board of Visitors for their approval and subsequent funding;

.2 Recommend to the Provost the faculty members who should receive the Grellet C. Simpson Award, the Graduate Faculty Award, the Outstanding Young Faculty Award, and the Topher Bill Service Award;

.3 Recommend to the Provost which faculty members should be selected as UMW’s nominees for the SCHEV Outstanding Faculty Award;

.4 Study and recommend to the University Faculty Council and the Provost, as appropriate, changes in policies, application procedures, and evaluation criteria to be applied concerning university-wide faculty development grants, sabbaticals, Jepson Fellowships, and UMW faculty awards; and

.5 Perform other duties as assigned by the University Faculty Council.