Bachelor of Liberal Studies (BLS) Committee

Meeting Dates

  • Monday, September 11, 2017; Lee Hall 414
  • Monday, October 9, 2017; Lee Hall 414 – Meeting Canceled
  • Monday, November 13, 2017; Lee Hall 414
  • Monday, December 4, 2017; Lee Hall 414

BLS Committee Members

  • 2018 Leanna Giancarlo – Chair
  • 2018 Jackie Gallagher – secretary
  • 2019 Nora Kim
  • 2019 Cristina Turdean
  • 2020 Chad Murphy
  • 2018 Woodie Walker (student representative, non-voting)
  • Ana Chichester, BLS director (voting member)

Ex Officio Members:

  • Jessica McGraw (ex-officio)
  • Sarah Lindberg (ex-officio)

2.8.1 Bachelor of Liberal Studies Committee

The committee consists of five appointed faculty members and a non-voting ex officio member, the Director of the Bachelor of Liberal Studies (BLS) Degree Program. In addition, one student, appointed by the Director of the BLS Degree Program, serves as a non-voting member. Appointed faculty members serve three-year staggered terms, beginning with the fall semester following their appointment. The committee’s duties are to:

.1 Evaluate BLS admissions policies as needed;

.2 Review and advise the Office of Admissions regarding recruitment and marketing strategies for the BLS program;

.3 Review and approve BLS special majors;

.4 Evaluate portfolio credit policies as needed;

.5 Review BLS degree requirements, including general education credits;

.6 Review BLS program assessments and make recommendations as needed;

.7 Review and approve requests for exceptions to BLS policies; and

.8 Perform other duties consistent with its charge as assigned by the University Faculty Council.