University Budget Advisory Committee

MEETING DATES 2020-2021:

  • Thurs, Aug 27
  • Thurs, Sep 3
  • TBD


  • At-Large
    • 2022 Nabil Al-Tikriti (Associate, CAS) – Chair
    • 2023 Laura Bylenok (Assistant, CAS)
    • 2022 Stephen Davies (Professor, CAS) – Secretary
    • 2022 Suzanne Sumner (Professor, CAS)
  • College Representatives
    • 2023(?) Chris Garcia (Associate, COB)
    • 2023 Liane Houghtalin (Professor, CAS)
    • 2022 Kyle Schultz (Associate, COE)
  • Ex officio
    • Patrick Catullo (Athletic Director)
    • Michelle Pickham (Staff Advisory Council President)
    • Unappointed — Student Government representative


2.6.2 The committee’s duties are to:

.1 Work in an advisory fashion with the Provost and Chief Academic Officer (CAO), the Vice President for Administration and Finance (CFO), the Vice President for Advancement and University Relations, and the Chief Executive Officer and President of the UMW Foundation on short- and long-term University budget priorities, broadly conceived, including planning, the operating budget and capital improvements, fundraising, and development. The recommendations for priorities will be communicated to the President via the CFO or the CAO;

.2 Indicate the committee’s priorities for the present budgeting year through an annual review process and summarize their priorities on future budgets to the CFO, CAO, and the UFC in a report due no later than mid-November;

.3 Communicate the committee’s recommendations to the UFC in a report no later than mid March and the results of the President’s decisions to the UFC in a report as soon as possible;

.4 In times of financial exigency, the Budget Advisory Committee assists the President, Provost, and Vice Presidents in developing principles and setting priorities for budget reductions; and

.5 Perform other duties as assigned by the University Faculty Council.