University of Mary Washington Sabbaticals, Fellowships, and Faculty Awards Committee Minutes March 11, 2021 11 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Meeting via Zoom

In Attendance

Wei Chen (CoB), Janie Lee (Chair, CAS), Jason James (Secretary, CAS), Kyle Schultz (CoE), Parrish Waters (CAS)

Chair's Report

- Janie Lee reported that in a recent meeting with Provost Nina Mikhalevsky she was told that sabbaticals would not be awarded for the foreseeable future unless the funding situation changes. If funding does become available, we will be asked to reevaluate those awarded sabbaticals for 2020-21 since the number available may not be the same as at the time of the original selection.
- 2. Dr. Lee also mentioned that in the recent round of nominations, none were submitted for the Graduate Faculty Award. She raised the possibility of offering this award to someone who teaches graduate courses and was nominated for another award but is not being given that award. (In a later email exchange the committee decided to not take this step this year since those who might be eligible were not nominated based on graduate teaching).

New Business

- The committee discussed nominees for the Board of Visitors Faculty Leadership Award, the Grellet C. Simpson Award, Graduate Faculty Award, Outstanding Young Faculty Award, Waple Faculty Professional Achievement Award, and the J. Christopher "Topher" Bill Service Award. For the BOV Faculty Leadership Award, we are asked to recommend two or three candidates to the Provost, who will recommend one to the BOV.
- In the course of these discussions, committee members noted differences in nominations. Some include only one or two letters, others include much more information and a number of letters. It was decided to work together using a google doc to craft language to add to future calls for nominations to make clearer what makes for a strong nomination.