Motion: Add a UFC ex officio representative from the CAS Department Chairs

The CAS Department Chairs have discussed the need for better lines of communication between the CAS Chairs and the rest of the faculty governance structure. This position would provide a liaison between UFC and the CAS Chairs, similar to the SAC Representative and the SGA Representative. This individual in this position would be appointed by the CAS Chairs. This position would be for a one-year term and would be nonvoting.

Currently Reads:

2.3.4 Membership and Organization of the UFC The UFC will be comprised of the following 18 members: three (3) faculty from the College of Education elected by COE faculty; three (3) faculty from the College of Business elected by COB faculty; nine (9) faculty members from the College of Arts and Sciences (elected by all CAS faculty) as follows: three (3) faculty elected from the health and STEM disciplines (biology, chemistry, computer science, Earth/environmental sciences, mathematics, physics, or health/physical education/recreation), three (3) faculty elected from the social sciences (economics, geography, history/American studies, historic preservation, political science/international affairs, psychology, or sociology/anthropology), and three (3) faculty elected from the arts and humanities (art/art history, classics/philosophy/religion, English/linguistics/communication, modern languages/literatures, music, or theater/dance). Faculty will elect members of their own division. Additionally, three (3) faculty will serve as at-large council members and will be elected from the instructional faculty-at-large, for a total of eighteen (18) UFC members. The President, Provost, one staff representative selected by the Staff Advisory Council, and one student representative selected by the Student Government Association serve as nonvoting ex officio members.

Proposed Changes to 2.3.4

2.3.4 Membership and Organization of the UFC The UFC will be comprised of the following 18 members: three (3) faculty from the College of Education elected by COE faculty; three (3) faculty from the College of Business elected by COB faculty; nine (9) faculty members from the College of Arts and Sciences (elected by all CAS faculty) as follows: three (3) faculty elected from the health and STEM disciplines (biology, chemistry, computer science, Earth/environmental sciences, mathematics, physics, or health/physical education/recreation), three (3) faculty elected from the social sciences (economics, geography, history/American studies, historic preservation, political science/international affairs, psychology, or sociology/anthropology), and three (3) faculty elected from the arts and humanities (art/art history, classics/philosophy/religion, English/linguistics/communication, modern

languages/literatures, music, or theater/dance). *Faculty will elect members of their own division*. Additionally, three (3) faculty will serve as at-large council members and will be elected from the instructional faculty-at-large, for a total of eighteen (18) UFC members. The President, Provost, one staff representative selected by the Staff Advisory Council, one faculty representative from the College of Arts & Science Department Chairs, and one student representative selected by the Student Government Association serve as nonvoting *ex officio* members.