FSEM Committee Meeting Notes 15 November 2019 Jepson, Room 341

Members Present: April Wynn (Chair), Robert Rycroft, Debra Hydorn, Jeb Collins, Cate Brewer and Dan Hubbard (Secretary)

Chair Wynn called the meeting to order at 14h01.

Following a brief review of the committee's desired teaching and advising backgrounds, various proposals were discussed, and the following actions were taken:

Approval of Additional Instructors:

- Sarah Dewees for the FSEM entitled "Communities of Engagement at Mary Washington"
- 2. Alan Griffith for the FSEM entitled "Science and Technology: Because We Can Should We?"
- 3. Jeb Collins for the FSEM entitled "Cryptology" (with minor revisions)
- 4. Brad Lamphere for the FSEM entitled "Parasites: Monsters Within" (with minor revisions)

Approval (electronic on Oct. 28, 2019) was voted for Teresa Coffman to modify the name of the FSEM entitled "So You Want to be a Teacher" to "Learning with Inquiry: Exploration, Experimentation, and Play"

Approval was voted for David Rettinger to modify the FSEM entitled "Passion to Action" to an FSEM entitled "Passion to Action: Nepal"

Approval for new FSEM Proposals:

- 1. Antonia Delgado-Poust for "The Ghosts and Monsters of Spain's 'Forgotten Past'" (with minor revision)
- 2. Andrew Dolby for "Too Hot to Handle" (with a recommendation for a name change to avoid confusion)
- 3. Wes Hillyard for "The Amusement Park: Yesterday's Pastime, Today's Thrill"
- 4. Michael Stebar for "The Mighty Maggot"
- 5. Will MacKintosh for "History That Didn't Happen" (with minor revision)

- 6. Jason Sellers for "History of Fredericksburg" (with minor revision)
- 7. Cate Brewer for "That's What She Said: Exploring Contemporary Female Playwrights and Their Plays" (with minor revision)

Request for Revision and Resubmission:

Cartland Berge's proposal for an FSEM entitled "We Create Worlds: Worldbuilding and Interactive Fiction"

Return of submission for clarification of departmental approval:

Sean Humphrey's proposal for an FSEM entitled "Designing the Life of a Changemaker" (Department approval on 11.25.19)

A motion to adjourn having been unanimously approved, Chair Wynn closed the meeting at 14h59.

Respectfully submitted,

Dan Hubbard