2019-2020 University Committees and Officers

Updated August 12, 2019

Appointed Committees:

Academic Affairs Committee (STANDING)

2020 Gonzalo Campos Dintrans, Assistant Professor, MLL, CAS 2022 Paul D. Fallon, Associate Professor, ELC, CAS College Representatives (To be replaced by college committees) 2020 Rachel Graefe-Anderson, Associate Professor, COB 2021 Jane Huffman, Associate Professor, COE 2022 Shumona Dasgupta, Associate Professor, ELC, CAS

BLS Committee

2020 Chad Murphy, Associate Professor, PSCI, CAS
2021 Yuan-Jen Chiang, Professor, MATH, CAS
2021 Marco Millones Mayer, Assistant Professor, GEOG, CAS
2022 Sushma Subramanian, Assistant Professor, ELC, CAS
2022 Abbie Tomba, Associate, BIOL, CAS

Ana Chichester, BLS director (ex officio), Susanne Tomillon (ex officio), Sarah Lindberg (ex officio) Woodie Walker, BLS Student Representative (ex officio)

Budget Advisory Committee

At Large: 2020 Brooke DiLauro, Associate Professor, MLL, CAS 2022 Nabil Al-Tikriti, Associate Professor, History 2022 Stephen Davies, Associate Professor, Computer Science 2022 Suzanne Sumner, Professor, Mathematics

College Representatives (To be replaced by college committees) 2020 Abbie Tomba, Associate Professor, CAS 2021 Mike Lapke, Associate Professor, COB 2022 Kyle Schultz, Associate Professor, COE

Distance and Blended Learning Committee

2020 Marisa Martinez-Mira, Associate Professor, MLL, CAS 2020 Alexandra Dunn, Assistant Professor, COB 2021 Mara Scanlon, Professor, ELC, CAS 2022 Adria Goldman, Assistant Professor, ELC, CAS 2022 Christy Irish, Assistant Professor, COE

First-Year Seminar Committee

2020 Dan Hubbard, Associate Professor, HISP, CAS 2020 Robert Rycroft, Professor, ECON, CAS 2021 Josephine Antwi, Assistant Professor, BIOL, CAS 2022 James Collins, Assistant Professor, MATH, CAS 2022 Debra Hydorn, Professor, MATH, CAS

Ex officio

April Wynn, Director of the First-Year Experience

General Education Committee (STANDING)

At-large **2020 Chris Musina, Assistant Professor, ART, CAS** 2020 Kelly Perkins, Lecturer, MATH, CAS 2021 Nicole Crowder, Associate Professor, CHEM, CAS 2021 Brooke Di Lauro, Associate Professor, MLL, CAS 2022 Courtney Clayton, Associate Professor, COE

Maximum Two-Year Terms (2020 at latest) Lance Gentry, Professor, COB, Sabbatical Replacement 2019-2020 John Marsh, Assistant, COB Farhang Rouhani, Professor, GEOG, CAS

Honors Program Committee

2020 Don Lee, Assistant Professor, ECON, CAS 2020 Jennifer Barry, Assistant Professor, CPR, CAS 2021 Jessica Zeitz Self, Assistant Professor, CPSC, CAS 2022 Mindy Erchull, Professor, PSYC, CAS 2022 Leanna Giancarlo, Associate Professor, CHEM, CAS

Kelli Slunt, Professor, CAS, ex officio, Honors Program Director Mara Scanlon, Professor, CAS, ex officio, Honors Program Fellow Amanda Ronay (Office Manager)– Secretary

James Farmer Multicultural Committee

2020 Alexandra Dunn, Assistant Professor, COB 2020 Maia Magrakvelidze, Assistant Professor, PHYS, CAS 2021 Suzie Kim, Assistant Professor, ARTH, CAS 2021 Melissa Wells, Assistant Professor, COE 2022 Mehdi Aminrazavi, Professor, CPR, CAS

Journalism Advisory Committee

2021 Marjorie Och, Professor, ARTH, CAS
2021 Judith Parker, Professor, ELC, CAS
2022 Steven E. Harris, Associate Professor, HISA, CAS
2022 Jennifer Mailloux, Associate Professor, PSYC, CAS

Ex officio Sushma Subramanian (Assistant Professor, CAS), Journalism Faculty Advisor Juliette Landphair, Vice President for Student Affairs

Speaking Intensive Committee

Anand Rao, Professor, ELC, CAS – Chair 2020 Parrish Waters, Assistant Professor, BIOL, CAS 2020 Elizabeth Johnson-Young, Assistant Professor, ELC, CAS 2021 Lauren McMillan, Assistant Professor, Historic Preservation, CAS 2022 Tyler Frankel, Assistant Professor, EESC, CAS 2022 Maya Mathur, Associate Professor, ELC, CAS

Student Affairs and Campus Life Advisory Committee

2020 Maysoon Al Sayed Ahmad, Lecturer, MLL, CAS 2021 Patricia Orozco, Lecturer, MLL, CAS 2021 Jason Robinson, Assistant Professor, ARTH, CAS 2022 Chris Ryder, Associate Professor, MUSIC, CAS 2022 Laura Wilson, Assistant Professor, PSYC, CAS

Teaching Center Advisory Committee

2020 Melody Denhere, Assistant Professor, MATH, CAS Sabbatical replacement Fall 2019, Karen Anewalt, Professor, CPSC, CAS
2021 Amrita Dhar, Assistant Professor, ECON, CAS
2021 Michael Stebar, Lecturer, BIOL, CAS
2022 Emily Crosby, Assistant Professor, ELC, CAS
2022 Jennifer Walker, Assistant Professor, COE
Ex officio
Caitie Finlayson, Director, Center for Teaching Excellence and Innovation

Caitie Finlayson, Director, Center for Teaching Excellence and Innovation Rosemary Arneson, University Librarian Jesse Stommel, Director of Teaching and Learning Technology

Writing Intensive Committee

2020 Emily Stanley, Assistant Professor, PSYC, CAS 2020 Laura Bylenok, Assistant Professor, ELC, CAS 2021 Randall Helmstutler, Associate Professor, MATH, CAS 2022 Brenta Blevins, Assistant Professor, ELC, CAS 2022 Ben LaBreche, Associate Professor, ELC, CAS

Ex officio. Gwen Hale, Director of the Writing Center and Writing Program

Elected Committees:

Faculty Affairs Committee (STANDING)

At-large 2020 Betsy Lewis, Professor, MLL, CAS – Chair 2021 Jennifer Magee, Senior Lecturer, MATH, CAS – Secretary 2022 Randall Reif, Assistant Professor, CHEM, CAS

College Representatives (To be replaced by college committees) 2020 Xiaofeng Zhao, Associate Professor, COB 2021 Jo Tyler, Professor, COE 2022 Eric Bonds, Associate Professor, SOAN, CAS

Faculty Appeals & Grievances Committee (STANDING)

At-large 2021 Steven E. Harris, Associate Professor, HIST, CAS 2022 Kristin Marsh, Associate Professor, SOAN, CAS

College Representatives (To be replaced by college committees) 2021 Hilary E. Stebbins, Associate, PSYC, CAS – Secretary 2022 Beverly Epps, Associate Professor, COE 2022 Xiaofeng Zhao, Associate Professor, COB

Back-Up Members 2021 Dianne Baker, Professor, BIOL, CAS – at large 2021 Ana Chichester, Professor, MLL, CAS – at large 2021 Chad Murphy, Associate Professor, PSCI, CAS 2021 Teresa Coffman, Professor, COE 2022 Michael Lapke, Associate Professor, COB

Faculty Organization Committee (STANDING)

2020 Janine Davis, Associate Professor, COE
2020 Wei Chen, Associate Professor, COB
2021 Christy Irish, Assistant Professor, COE
2021 Don Lee, Assistant Professor, ECON, CAS
2022 Maia Magrakvelidze, Assistant Professor, PHYS, CAS
2022 Smita Jain Oxford, Senior Lecturer, COB

Sabbaticals, Fellowships, & Faculty Awards Committee (STANDING)

College Representatives (To be replaced by college committees) 2020 Sayan Sarkar, Assistant Professor, COB Rep 2021 Antonio Causarano, Associate Professor, COE Rep 2021 Parrish Waters, Assistant Professor, BIOL, CAS Health, PE & STEM Rep 2022 Jason James, Associate Professor, SOAN, CAS Social Sciences Rep 2022 Janie Lee, Associate Professor, ELC, CAS Arts & Humanities Rep

University Faculty Council

College of Business 2020 – Dave Henderson 2021– Kashef Majid 2022 – Ken Machande

College of Education 2020 – John Broome 2020 – Victoria Russell 2022 – Janine Davis

College of Arts and Sciences – Health, PE, & STEM 2020 – Sarah Morealli 2021 – Andrew Delaney 2022 – Larry Lehman

College of Arts and Sciences – Social Sciences 2020 – Jackie Gallagher, CASFC Secretary 2021 – Laura Mentore, CASFC Vice-Chair 2022 – Miriam Liss

College of Arts and Sciences – Arts & Humanities 2020 – Angela Pitts, CASFC Chair 2021 – Helen Housley 2022 – Gregg Stull At-Large 2020 – Marcel Rotter (CAS) 2021 – Anand Rao (CAS) - UFC Chair 2022 – Andrew Dolby

Ex Officio UMW President Troy Paino UMW Provost Nina Mikhalevsky UMW Staff Advisory Council President Pam Lowery UMW SGA Representative – Lindsey Kowaki

Note: University Curriculum Committee is a STANDING Committee consisting of the chairs of the College Curriculum Committees and a UFC representative.