University Sabbaticals, Fellowships, and Faculty Awards Committee

Report submitted by Douglas W. Sanford, Chair (2/15/13)

Meeting Minutes for September 6, 2012

Members present: Chris Foss, Norah Hooper, Louis Martinette, John Morello, Doug Sanford, Frederico Schneider

As the initial meeting of the committee for the academic year, new members were introduced. For the first order of business a new chair was elected, with Doug Sanford serving in that capacity, while Norah Hooper will serve as secretary. Other committee members include Chris Foss, Frederico Schneider, and Louis Martinette, serving in place of Bob Greene, who is away for medical reasons this semester. John Morello, Associate Provost, serves as the committee's ex-officio member.

The committee reviewed the procedures for deliberations of the Jepson Fellowship, as applications are due to the Provost's office by Sept. 10th. The committee set the next meeting date for these deliberations as September 27th.

The committee, based on information provided by John Morello and Chris Foss; and, given the likelihood of available funding in the coming year, held a preliminary discussion of an award for faculty research and professional achievement. Last year, this award had been recommended to the University Faculty Council, which in turn requested that the USFFA committee establish guidelines for the award.